Facing Disappointment

Let’s face it, we all run into disappointment. Now the part that everyone expects to come next is one of two things. Pep talk or rage against the machine. I could do either. I could pep talk myself up saying over and over again, “You’re such a good teacher. You’re a great person. You deserve the next one. Get pumped!” I could do that.

I could also sit here and bang my head against the wall that I was just talking to and instead scream, “I hate everything! I hate my job! I hate the people I work with! I hate where I am right now!” and then finish with a heavy and deep guitar shred.

I don’t think I want to do either. I’ll learn from it instead. I don’t need a pep talk. I know that my identity lies in Christ. I know that with every closed door, there is a reason for it. I know that God’s plan is perfect and I know that He has it all in His plan. No matter how much I think of myself, He never changes.

I also know that being angry will only make me a bitter person. I know that raging just makes me look like the kids I teach. That is what I did when my identity was in myself and when rejection meant something personal but now it is only something God does to better me in some way.

Like a child having a toy taken away from them, it may seem like a good time to throw a tantrum but what I didn’t realize was that the toy probably would have killed me or hurt me. I had no idea that it was an outlet I was playing with. (Yes, this is a metaphor from my daughter)

Leave a Reply

